Entrevista ao canil Kristari


Photo:Ch.Kristari’s Jokers Wild

Aqui fica a entrevista feita pela revista americana Siberians USA às criadoras Sharon Osharow e Monica Rear do prestigiado e mundialmente conhecido canil Kristari.

The first part of the intervew began with Sharon.

How many years have you been in Siberians?

About 29.

How did you get started?

A friend of mine gave me one as a pet. After a couple of years, it needed some company so I got another pet from Pauline Price of Kaila Kennels. That was Ari. Those were my first two, Kristi and Ari. And that how my kennel name came about. I put them through Obedience.

How did you get involved in Conformation?

I had quit my job and I got really friendly with the Prices and moved up to their place. Then I started going to some dog shows with them and got interested in Conformation. And they actually gave me a bitch. And I started showing a little bit then. And then Kathleen Kanzler (Innisfree Siberians) came out to judge at Santa Barbara one year and I met her and talked to her about getting a dog. She sent one out to me and that was Cinder, which was out of Rogue and Skrimshaw. And that’s how I started.

Did you have a mentor?

Well, my very first mentor for the first couple of years I was in it was Pauline Price (Kaila Siberians). Kathleen Kanzler met me when she was out in California judging and visiting the Prices. When she got back home she found out she was losing her kennel help and she called Pauline and asked if I would be interested coming back there for six months to work for her. Pauline talked to me and I said I needed to see the place first before I committed to that. So, Pauline and I flew back there together and I just fell in love with the dogs and the family. We had a great time so my 6 months turned into four years. Kathleen was my true mentor because I spent so many years with her and that’s where I really began breeding dogs and learning about breeding dogs. I only had a couple of litters myself at her place before I moved out but I worked there for fours years and raised all the litters and learned all the history of the dogs.

At that particular time, which breeder influenced you most in type and structure?

Well, that was Innisfree, that was Kathleen Kanzler. I like the athleticism of the dogs. I liked the looks of the dogs. It was in my eyes and in my mind what a Siberian should be.

Since Kathleen was your mentor, which was the single most important thing did you learn from her?

I learned how to breed dogs…that to me was the most important thing.

Since you were with Innisfree for four years, what did you learn from her that you still implement in your breeding program today?

I like to think I breed a consistently typey and structurally sound dog.

What year did you start Kristari Siberians?

I don’t recall the exact year…probably around 1978 or so.

Who was your foundation bitch and what was it about her that you felt could contribute to your breeding program?

My first foundation bitch, that I would consider a true foundation bitch was Ch.Innisfree´s Persian Rug. She was gray and white, really, really pretty, great personality, great little show dog, everybody loved her and she was producing some nice puppies for me. She was just overall a really pretty, typey bitch. Real sound, nice moving and I loved her Father Roadster and her mother Marakesh who both oozed with type and I loved both of them a lot for their producing abilities also. So, she was actually my first real foundation bitch.

Currently in your breeding program today, do your dogs still go back to her?

Oh, yeah. Almost everything. I do mostly line breeding. And lots of dogs go back to her.

Was there ever a turning point in your breeding program? Did you ever change directions? Did you ever feel that your breeding program wasn’t going where you wanted it to go?

No, I wouldn’t consider that at anytime I had a turning point. The only thing I have done is I have looked for an out cross every so often because I line breed so much that I needed something a little different so I wouldn’t get backed into a corner. But the direction has always been the same and always will be.

This part of the interview is with Monica.

How did you come to America and become the partner in one of the most influential kennels in the world?

Originally I came here to buy dogs. I visited Innisfee and Sharon. I bought a couple of dogs from Innisfree and a bitch and some semen from Sharon. We both liked a lot of the same things in the dogs and sort of kept in touch. I told her I was coming over here and she asked me if I would be interested in helping out with her kennel. She was looking for someone to help her because it was hard doing it on her own with the amount of dogs she had. She had been looking for a long time. She just hadn’t found the right person. I was planning to come over here. Since the last trip we had kept in touch on the computer. I wanted to work in a large kennel. Sharon basically asked if I wanted to come over and work with her and if things worked out she would offer me a partnership in her kennel.

How many years have you been in Siberians?

I have been in Siberians for about 16 years.

How did you get started?

Actually, my ex husband wanted a siberian. We brought a bitch from a local breeder and was not sure if we wanted to show or not so we got papers anyway. She ended up being my foundation bitch and I did some decent winning with her.

Tell me about your breeding program in Australia and did you bring any Siberians with you?

In Australia, the gene pool was very limited. There were a couple of dogs that had been brought in from the United States. My foundation bitch Aust Ch. Mishzon Silver Zorina was a grand daughter of a dog that I liked a lot named Karnavonda’s The Encore (Cory). She ended up doing very well and she produced for me a Best In Show Winner and also mutiple R/U BIS winners.

Who was your Best In Show winner?

He was a dog that I sold to a friend of mine. He was not a great dog, he was a very cute puppy that was very together. He won his BIS when he was still in the 12 to 18 month class. He did end up being a little too overdone when he was older.

Who After settling in at Kristari, what contributions do you feel you have made?

Well, I think I gave Sharon someone to talk dogs with. With me being there, we kept more dogs. She has a little bigger gene pool to work with. There were several dogs, that we kept that Sharon might not have kept that have ended up being influential in the breeding program too. Kristari’s Rudolph Valentino (Rudy) was one. Tie was another that we believe that will be very influential. Kristari’s Black Tie Affair (Tie) was not one we were going to sell but it was a breeding that I had been asking Sharon to do for sometime.

The rest of the interview is with both Sharon and Monica.

Sharon: He was from a repeat breeding that I had done once before that produced a really nice dog that had been campaigned and had done really well. I had told her no, that I was not going to repeat the breeding because the bitch was getting older. I think she was 8 at the time. So, I surprised her one Christmas when she was away, the bitch happen to come in season and when Monica came back and I told her for her Christmas present I bred Kristari’s Tickle Me Elmo to Kristari’s Whirlwind. We had two puppies and one went to a pet home and the other was Tie.

Monica: Another thing too, was that with the both of us being there we would each keep one puppy. We would sort of keep our own puppies. Whereas, before I was there, Sharon would only keep one. The style of dog that I had was a little different. I liked the style that Sharon had but sometimes there were things that I would like was a little different than she was used to.

Sharon:
It’s not only just the dogs. I was able to bounce things off Monica and Monica could bounce things off me. And things she saw that I didn’t see and things that I saw that she didn’t see. It makes it a good collaboration when you are trying to figure out which dogs to keep. The other thing that Monica contributed in the kennel was the way she interacted with the dogs. She loves to play with the dogs. Not that I don’t but she has a way of socializing puppies. The puppies love her. The dogs love her. It makes them great show dogs. She is a great groomer. Better than I am any day. So she has contributed a lot to the kennel.

Monica: We have some puppies that we see at shows and they haven’t seen me since eight weeks and they go absolutely crazy when they see me. I have one dog I have to hide from because he just goes sooooo stupid! The owner gets all upset at ringside.

Which dogs have had the most impact on establishing the type you prefer?

Sharon: The most impact for me has been probably Roadster, Brighton, Chief, Chip and now Rudy. More Roadster, Chip, Chief and Rudy because I didn’t breed Brighton that much. They have produced the style of Siberian I like and the temperament, the movement and the structure. They have been awesome producers. I have an up and coming dog, Tie who I think is going to be up in the same league as them.

Monica: I absolutely love what Tie produces for us. The style of the dog that I like…I mean I love the athelicism in a dog but I’d say that I prefer a little more substance in a dog than Sharon. I love Lonnie, Innisfree’s Avalon. I love the type she has produced too, bitch wise. I was lucky enough to see Erlene when she was old, and I saw Chief and some of the older dogs but I can only talk about the dogs in the last eight years.

Sharon: As far as bitches and what they produced, Rugs was great. Lonnie like Monica said…Lonnie to me produced real outgoing, pretty dogs but to me they may not have been structurally as quite as good as the some of the others but decent dogs and they had alot to offer for the pedigree alone as well as for structure and movement. Lonnie has been an integral part in our breeding program.

What traits would you like to keep in the generations to come?

Sharon: I would like to keep the traits I have today. The athlelicism of the Siberian to me is the most important thing.

Monica: Good temperaments, beautiful eye shape.

Sharon: I have had some issues with eye shape that I have been working to improve on. Tails is a hard thing to keep in good shape. We’ve all had tail issues. We all try to work on that. Soundness. I have a pet peeve on soundness. They have to be clean coming and going. Even if they are off a little bit it irritates me. Soundness is real important to me. I also love the nice easy side gait..not the flying stuff you see a lot in the ring today. I like the dogs to make it look so effortless.

How important is the title Champion in a breeding program?

Monica: It’s not important at all.

Is phenotype more important than pedigree?

Sharon: No, it’s a 50/50 deal. They balance each other and they compliment each other. That’s what I was taught and that is what I believe.

Monica: Too many people get tied up with pedigrees. They think it is all about pedigrees. They try to double up on certain dogs and on certain lines. They forget about what they are breeding.

At what age to you evaluate puppies and what do you look for?

Sharon: Between 7 and 8 weeks old. We watch them when they are starting to walk but you can’t see much. We mostly start the socalizing them. I was always taught that around 8 weeks old when they move and their structure is what they will be when they are adults. So we evaluate between 7 and 8 weeks old, really closer to eight. After that, they start growing and getting legs and gawky.

Monica: Soundness. Movement.

Sharon: We like to look for the puppy that trots everywhere. Not the ones that trot and then break into a gallop. The ones that can cover some ground and not have to break into a run. That’s the type of puppies we look for.

Monica: We do a lot of our evaluation on movement. Because most our dogs are fairly typey and very consistant. We are looking for eyes, tails, length of body. But you are looking for the puppy that catches your eye the most. Generally, while you are watching them you have stand outs. As for deciding on pet or show quality. Basically, we look at if we would be happy to keep it then we would be happy to sell it to a show home. Actually, Joker was the one puppy we got stuck with it.

Sharon: We offered him to about three people and they didn’t want him.

Monica: We had two other people that picked puppies because there were three nice boys in the litter. The other people had first choice of what they wanted.

Sharon: And to be honest with you. Rudy was offered to few different people too. But with Joker, one guy came down to the house and there was Kristari’s Jokes Wild (Joker) and a black and white dog named Teddy from the litter. But even though he recognized that Joker probably moved better. He liked the style of Teddy, who was more like Innisfree’s Chips Ahoy (Chip). Where Joker was more like Rudy. And he liked the Chip style so he took him. We eventually got him back because he was going back to school and didn’t have time. I had sent a couple of pictures to a few people of Joker on a stack and they didn’t like the picture. Granted, he was 11 or 12 week old then. I told them he was a beautiful moving puppy. He’s just not looking his best right now because he was kind of gawky then especially in the head. But they said “no” so he just stuck around.

And now?

Sharon: He’s not actively being shown now but when he was last out he was Number 10 in the Country.

Monica: And we have a couple of really nice kids that he has produced for us which is great.

Are there any Siberians you regretted letting go?

Sharon: There is a lot of them I regretted letting go but I can’t keep them all. There isn’t enough time in the day to do everything with everyone.

Monica: The thing is you can’t keep all the good ones for yourself. You do the breed an injustice for a start. Other people out there if they want to breed dogs they have to be able to breed to good dogs. Too many people just sell whatever they have leftover. Rather than letting people get an opportunity to get a good start. There are lots of really good people that get into dogs but that are not necessarily sold good dogs, just because they are new. Sometimes they don’t do as well because they are just starting out. But if you don’t give them something good, there is no incentative for them to stay.

Sharon: A lot people have what they consider pick puppy, 2nd pick puppy, 3rd pick puppy. I don’t personally believe in that. I believe that certain styles of dogs appeal to different people. Whereas, I like one style, another person might like another style even though they might move the same. It’s a personal preference. People will say “Can I have pick puppy or if you are taking first pick can I take 2nd pick?”. I say “If you want a show puppy I will find you a really nice show puppy.” It might be what one person thinks is first pick or it might be what someone else thinks is second pick but I will give you a really nice puppy.

Do you ever buy puppies or adults from other kennels? And if so, in what circumstances would you do that?

Sharon: We’ve done that, mainly for an out cross, or if there is something that just really just catches our eye.

Monica: Usually, if Sharon offers to buy a puppy from someone, they don’t want to sell it.

Sharon: Yeah. If fact, just recently I asked someone about buying a…it wasn’t a puppy it was year…year and a half old male that was a total out cross. He really struck my fancy but she wouldn’t sell him.
Well, if you two came calling to buy a male from someone….if they didn‘t know they had something before, they sure know it then. (laughter)

Sharon: Well, I am not sure that’s true.

Monica: There are certain things in lines that might not necessarily be in other lines and you just might not want to introduce them into your line. There are not a lot of kennels out there that are heavily line bred breeding then there are others that have a lot of out crossing. When you bring in an out crossed dog, you don’t want to bring in a totally outcrossed dogs. Generally you want some sort of line breeding behind it so you can at least have some idea what you expect it to produce.
To pick up where we left off…we were discussing line breeding and in breeding.

Monica: There is a difference between line breeding and in breeding. Some people consider inbreeding as line breeding and vise versa. The quick version is that in breeding is basically when you go back into the next generation, where as line breeding is going back into your pedigree in the third generation or further back. We don’t like to do half brother, half sister or father, daughter breeding. The closest we get is generally a grandfather/grand daughter situation.

Sharon: I have done one inbreeding in my entire dog life. And that’s when I bred Chip to a Chip daughter. Because Chip was getting older and obviously producing consistent enough that could be like him or produce like him it would be good. We have a male from that breeding. We have let him grow up. We haven’t bred to him yet because right now we have a lot of Chip kids and grandkids so it’s just a matter of waiting for something with a little out cross to it to bring it back in.

What is the dog’s name? And will he be available for stud?

Monica: His name is Kristari’s Roll the Dice. I love him dearly and he is a fun dog. He actually looks a lot like Chip now as he has got older. I am looking forward to seeing what he produces for us. As for being available at stud all our dogs are available at stud to the right bitches.

How do you condition your dogs?

Sharon: We have an acre fenced in and it’s on a slight slope so they get conditioning running in the yard.

Monica: Free running is important. You should have an area that the dog can run, move out and really extend themselves. That is really, really important. Food definately contributes to the conditioning, when you feed a really good quality food, that is. Also grooming helps with conditioning the coat. Regular bathing and grooming with a quality shampoo and conditioner is essential for a healthy coat.

Do you feel that the Siberian in which you started with is the same style you have today? How has your breeding program evolved?

Sharon: Well, when I started with the dogs I consider my real start, it was all Innisfree and I think that I have today is very much the same style. And that’s what I want and that’s why I line breed. If I start with that style it means I like it. Of course, you always want to better dog but bettering the dog means to me structurally, not the style. It’s making better movement, better structure on the dogs and fixing here and there what needs to be fixed but keeping it the same style. A lot of people tell me that they can tell a Kristari dog, just by looking at it. I don’t see it personally, maybe because we are so close to it, I don’t know about Monica but I don’t see that.

Monica: I can definately see it. That was one of the reasons that attracted me to Kristari Kennels in the beginning when I originally started looking for dogs to import to Australia. That was the style/type that I liked.

Sharon: I just tried to keep it similar in style to what I liked in the early 80’s and still do to this day.

What are most important characteristics in the Siberian Husky?

Monica: I think there are two very important characteristics. Breed Type. It has to look like a Siberian Husky, not an Alaskan Malamute or a Saluki cross. The second is that it has to be able to move or it can’t do the job it was bred to do.
What are some of your greatest moments in the ring?

Monica: I have to say that my greatest memory was winning my very first Best In Show. There is nothing like the thrill of winning a Best of Show in my opinion. It was with a very special dog of mine who I will always have a special place in my heart for. I also get a great feeling of achievement when I finish a dog. The most memorable moment in the ring here in the USA was the very first time I showed a dog here. I showed a class dog and he won a 4 point major. I thought to myself well that was easy, at the time I did not realize it was a major and then afterwards said to myself, what’s so hard about getting a major, when’s the next show?

Sharon: For me, probably when Chief won the National Specialty. To me he was a really great dog and produced really well. He was out of one of my top brood bitches, Ch.Kristari’s Erlene, who I loved dearly and it was very satisfying to me to see something like that. But I have to say that when Innisfree’s Chips Ahoy won the Stud Dog class at one of the Specialties. That to me was a lot. Because he was one of my great producers and I personally adored that dog. He was very well received around the world. For him to win the Stud Dog class meant to me what I was doing was working. When I hear from other people that either call or email to tell me about there dogs winning that they got from me. That’s more important to me than going in the ring and winning or having a Top 10 dog. That everybody else can have the same success is satisfying to me.

Was Chip your top producing Stud dog?

Sharon: As far as the numbers, I believe he is. As far as the actual Champions he has produced. I believe that Chief was next. Actually, Chief sired a lot less litters than what Chip did. I think Chief had about 20+ American Champions, and Chip has about 65+ American Champions and a ton of overseas Champions.

Sharon: I don’t know exactly.

Monica: When you look at stud dogs it depends on how many times they have been bred to and what type of bitch they have been bred to. Chief, even though Sharon had him he was away being campaigned and she did not have as much access to him. He died when he was only 9 years old. And when you look at the number of bitches he was bred to, his was higher than Chips.

Sharon: And to be honest, Chief was a better dog than Chip. Structurally, movement and all that. Chief was just a better dog. But as Monica said, Chief was out being campaigned for two years on the West Coast and I was on the East Coast so I didn‘t breed to him. I do a lot of breeding so I didn’t have access to him then. Plus he was co-owned so he didn’t always live with me. Whereas, Chip except for a couple of years at Innisfree was with me all the time.

Don’t you think that Chip represented “Classic Siberian Type”?
When people bred to him they were looking for “type”?

Sharon: Yes, I believe that’s true. That classic, pretty, black and white, very
moderate size dog. Beautiful coat. Real, real pretty nice expression. Great
personality. That’s what people wanted. And to be honest with you, he didn’t
throw it. He did not produce himself. The only thing about himself that we
thought he produced was his expression, his personality and probably his
soundness.

Monica: His eyes and eye shape he produces. I think that he does produce a style of head.

Sharon: Yes, I agree n you bred to Chip you have to like your bitch because generally he produces the bitch and he would just add some of his characteristics. If people came with a mediocre bitch and wanted to breed to Chip expecting to get a Chip we would say “no”. He’s not the dog you need to breed to. Basically, you are going to get a lot of your bitch.

Sharon: It was frustrating to us too. We, also wanted something that looked like Chip that maybe structurally was a little better but had that look and we just didn’t get it.

Monica: That was why we did that inbreeding. We took a daughter that looked like him and bred him back to him.

Does he look like him?

Monica: When you look at Dice from the side, he looks a lot like him. In fact, the older Dice gets, the more he looks like him, sometimes it is just like looking at Chip out in the yard.

Sharon: He’s taller. He doesn’t look anything like him when you look at him straight on in
the head except his expression and his coat. But he’s better structurally than Chip.

Monica: Well I disagree with that (and for the record, not the first time we have disagreed either…lol). Dice has the same eye shape and is very similar in the head. His muzzle is just a little longer. We are waiting for the right bitch to breed him to.

To change gears a little. Have either of you considered getting your judging license?

Monica: I would like to eventually.

Sharon: I don’t right now have any inclination to do that. I find there is a conflict of interest when someone is still breeding and showing and they are judging also. There is enough crap that goes around and enough innuendos and finger pointing at people, to judge and show… I just don’t want that kind of conflict.

Monica, since you have been here do you think that the Siberians are better today than when you arrived in this country?

Monica: Well, it’s not been that long, but I have to say that I was really surprised when I first arrived because I really thought of America as the Mecca. I’ve looked at a lot of books and looked at a lot of pictures of dogs and read about a lot of dogs and when I came over here I was actually surprised at the quality of dogs. I was a little let down. I was surprised at the lack of soundness that I saw. I think that was the big thing that I saw. I was expecting to see these really sound, nice moving dogs, oozing breed type. And I was a little miffed. Maybe my expectations were a too high but maybe that was because I was looking at a lot of the great dogs from the past.

Do you think people from other countries look at United States and think the dogs are better than they are?

Monica: I definitely think they do. I know that from the countries I visited and the dogs that I have seen overseas. They seem to think that if it is an American Champion, that it’s absolutely fantastic and is far superior than anything they have which is just not the case. You can finish any dog. You can finish any dog if you have enough money and you have the right person at the end of the lead. It doesn’t matter how bad the dog is, you can finish it. Just because you have the word Champion in front of the name doesn’t mean it is great. This is were that there has been so many kennels that have been influential in the breed here and people overseas think that America is THE place to buy dogs.

Which countries have you visited?

I have been to and shown dogs in Thailand, China, New Zealand and Australia.

What did you think of the quality of the Siberians in those countries?

The quality overseas, what I saw in Thailand and China. There are some good dogs there but also there are some not so good dogs that were sent over there from the States. A lot of people use it as a dumping ground. They will finish the dogs and sell them off overseas. And some of the dogs I saw over there were absolutely appalling. Absolutely, appalling.

Sharon: The Siberians today have evolved a lot from 20 years ago. I thought the Siberian was in wonderful shape. They were sound. They were typey. They moved nice. It was great. And then, unfortunately, it came to an era where the Japanese started wanting to buy dogs. At that point, everyone and his brother was hiring handlers to finish dogs quickly so they could sell them overseas for big bucks. And that was when a lot of bad breedings took place because people were just breeding to get a certain type. The Japanese at one point wanted gray dogs, or they wanted blue eyed dogs, or red dogs. And people were just frantic because there was good money in it. They would sell dogs to these show homes, they thought were show homes. Most of them were using brokers to sell them overseas. I think that was part of the downfall of what happened with the Siberians which made them not as good as they were 20 years ago. Since then, that market started falling off when people started breeding dogs again. Then we got into fads. If the top Siberian was a little gray dog, everyone wanted to have a little gray dog. If the top winning dog was a tall dog, then everyone wanted a tall dog. Instead of doing what people believe should be the Siberian Husky they were breeding for a fad type of dog. I think we lost a lot of movement, soundness and type on a lot of the Siberians. Even though the Japanese market gone, other markets have opened up. It’s not the same of it was then. The Siberian is not near as good as it was 20 years ago.

There is one standard but there are different styles of Siberians being shown. Is it open to interpretation, or is it?

Monica: Totally it is. People’s opinion is what they want. Even still we have height requirements. I really believe this whole thing about under size dog should be a disqualifying fault, because if you can disqualify them for being over then you should disqualify them for under.

Sharon: I agree with that.

Monica: But what I consider medium or moderate can be totally different from what you may think is medium or moderate. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and it’s what your personal preference and opinion is. Sharon: And you can’t argue with that.

Sharon: You can’t argue with that.

Monica: No. It’s an opinion. You talk to any person, in any breed. And the first thing they always complain about is “look at that dog, that dog doesn’t conform to the standard…blah, blah, blah“. And yet you talk to the breeder or the owner of that dog will say the same about their dog. Unless you get exact measurements and exact what is expected, it is always going to be open for interpretation. And you know what? And you know what, in all honestly, there are things I prefer in a Siberian in regards to looks and type but I know they are not correct and I don’t breed for it. But it pleases my eye more so to see it. I wouldn’t necessarily put it up if I was judging. But for judges that are not breeders will put up what pleases them to the eye and a lot of that has to do with their particular breed and what their used to seeing.

Sharon and Monica, I am going to read off a list of names of Siberians and tell me the first thing that comes to your mind.

Kristari’s Pacific Skyline “Brighton”

Sharon: Brighton was fun, handsome, great show dog.

Photo: Ch.Kristari’s Pacific Skyline

Kristari’s Erlene “Erlene”

Sharon: Erlene was a great producer, really fun and loved to show.

Kristari’s Firechief O’Talhuu “Chief”

Sharon: Firechief was an awesome dog. He was fun. Great
personality. And lasagna and dog treats. Gary Zayak will
understand that.

Kristari’s Jokers wild “Joker”

Sharon: A kick in the butt!

Monica: Joker is the coolest dog. You can put a newborn baby puppy down with him and he will just love it. He’s the gentlest dog and he’s so smart. I love his look and style and think he has one of the prettiest heads that I could never get tired of looking at. To me he’s just the ideal buddy.

Kristari’s Perry Mason “Perry”

Sharon: Very, very sweet dog.

Innisfree’s chips Ahoy “Chip”

Sharon: My best buddy.

Monica: Chip was not a dog, he was a person. He lived in the house. He was just a member of the family. He’d come out the front with us and hang around. He was never a dog.

Sharon: He would go in a whelping box or go in with puppies and clean puppies. He would play with them and NONE of the bitches cared. He loved puppies.

Monica: He loved to have these what I call boot scoot attacks, he would tuck his butt under and race around. Even up to the very last day, the minute the laundry door opened, he knew he was going to get fed. He would boot scoot around the place. He was the best scooter too. He just won everybody’s heart. Everybody that came to visit and met him, just fell in love with that dog. The most telling thing was when Chip left , the tributes just poured in. There were some absolutely beautiful websites that people all around the world put up as tributes to him. And it was so moving and it was so emotional. It’s the end of an era for us. We are just lucky that we have a lot of kids and grandkids to carry on his legacy.

You are just so lucky you had him!

Monica and Sharon at once: Oh, yeah!

Monica: To have a dog that was as great as he was and to produce as well as he did was incredible. We never treated him a like dog, he was a member of the family. Chip was always a house dog. He was so well behaved. He NEVER did anything wrong, Never! He was just the best and most incredible dog. I think that most breeders have that one special dog that no matter what happened that dog could never be replaced. Chip was like that. If I people could ever have a dog half as good as him, I don’t mean confirmation wise either, I mean personality etc., they would be blessed.

Kristari’s Rudolph Valentino “Rudy”

Monica: Rudy oozes athleticism and everything a Siberian should be.

Sharon: He’s fun and he’s loving as can be.

Monica: He’s a pleaser. Definitely a pleaser.

Kristari’s Roses are Red “Rosie”

Monica: I love Rosie. Very affectionate. She’s what I call a substantial bitch.
She’s a beautiful moving bitch and she’s 10 years old now and she looks about 5. You
could take her out tomorrow and show her.

Kristari’s Skrimshaw Romeo “Romeo”

Monica: Romeo, he was fun. We use to call him Home Boy. And he actually produced better than he was. He was a nice dog.

Sharon: He was moderate as moderate can be. He was moderate all over. Just a really nice to live with. Loved everyone. Didn’t have a problem with anyone. He was a good dog to live with.

Did I leave anyone out?

Photo: Ch.Kristari’s Black Tie Affair

Monica: Yes, Kristari’s black tie Affair “Tie”.

Monica: Tie is my baby. I loved him since he was a little guy. I call him MyTie….. and that he is. He loves to be cuddled yet is a very independent dog. When I am away he sulks.

Sharon: Now he won’t leave me alone.

Monica: He’s so sweet. I love his movement, he is so light on his feet, I think he is one of the best moving dogs that we have.
I know that you have bred a lot of exceptional Siberians but can you answer these questions about the Siberians that are no longer with us.

Starting with, structurally best Siberian you have ever bred?

Sharon: Kristari’s Firechief O’Talhuu

Best Brood Bitch?

Sharon: Innisfree’s Persian Rug

When bred, what did she produce?

Sharon: There was nothing specific…she just produced really nice dogs…beautiful type.

Best Stud Dog?

Sharon: Innisfree’s Chips Ahoy!

And what would one expect to get when you bred to him?

Sharon: Soundness with his expression.

Monica: Chip tended to produce the bitch more in type but he would help with eyes, tails, coats and expression. Because we line breed, our dogs/bitches are very typey and typically were line bred on Chip, so when we took our bitches back to him we doubled up on those characteristics.

And today dogs:

Best Brood Bitch?

Monica: Kristari’s Queen of Cups “Tara”

When bred, what does she produce?

Sharon: Beautiful type and movement

Monica: Tara has produced some beautiful puppies for us. She has in my opinion a stunning body and moves like a treat. She typically produces that as well with a beautiful dark almond eye. Great coats, good ear set. She is a consistant producer and we have always got nice litters from her.

Best Stud Dog?

Monica: Toss up between Rudy and Tie. I think Tie is going to be a phenomenal producer for us. At the moment Rudy is older and been used more. They both produce a little differently.

Sharon: Rudy has produced more litters with much success but Tie will be our future.

What is the difference in what they produce?

Sharon: Tie produces more bone and maybe a little more coat. Both produce similar movement.

Monica: Rudy tends to stamp himself in his puppies. He normally produces nice side gait, good size, a more athletic looking animal and pretty heads with a lovely eye. Tie tends to produce a little more bone and he also produces very nice side gait and soundness. We get a nice dark almond eye with good eye shape.

http://www.kristarisiberians.com

Deixe uma Resposta

